Poor choices may result in any Texas motorist facing driving while intoxicated (DWI) charges at least once. Most individuals don’t make the same mistake twice, though.
You may want to know what penalties you can face should a judge or jury convict you on DWI charges.
What are Texas’ legal drinking limits?
At least 47% of all highway deaths involve alcohol as a contributing factor. Typically, drivers who die in alcohol-related crashes have an average blood alcohol content (BAC) of .12%, .04% over the legal limit. Many arrested motorists have BACs of at least .16%, which is twice the legal limit.
Punishments imposed on convicted first-time DWI offenders
First-time DWI charges are Class A or B misdemeanor offenses. Prosecutors base their decision to charge a motorist with one of these offenses on their alleged level of intoxication.
Punishments that convicted DWI repeat offenders face
Texas imposes enhanced penalties for repeat offenders, which it classifies as those facing their third and subsequent DWI charges. A conviction for such an offense is a third-degree felony. Such crimes carry with them a potential five to 20-year prison sentence. Probation for such an offense may last as long as seven years. Probation violations may carry with them a 10-year prison term.
What to know if you are facing drunk driving charges in Texas
The court’s leniency tends to diminish the more DWI arrests that they see on your record. This information is likely to result in them pursuing harsher penalties should a judge or jury convict you of the crime.
The attorney representing you in your DWI case should have extensive experience in representing repeat offenders. This is the best way for you to achieve the best outcome in your case.