One drunk driving charge is bad enough, so most people avoid making the same mistake twice.
But what if you do keep making the same mistake over and over again? What if you’re now charged with a DWI for the third time
The potential penalties if you’re convicted are severe
A third-offense DWI is a serious charge that you must defend yourself against. Third offenses are felonies under Texas law, which means that you will face time in jail, stiff penalties and heavy fines.
The penalties are straightforward in third-offense DWI cases. The Texas Department of Transportation states that a third offense DWI leads to:
- $10,000 in fines
- Between two and 10 years in prison
- License revocation or suspension of up to two years
There are also additional state fines of up to $6,000 if you’re sentenced.
If there’s a child in the car at the time, it gets worse
If you have a child in your vehicle when you’re caught driving while intoxicated, you could face additional penalties above those that were already mentioned.
If the child is under 15 years of age, then you can be charged with child endangerment. You’ll face an additional jail sentence of up to two years and may lose your license for an additional 180 days. Additionally, you’ll face fines of up to $10,000 in addition to the fines already assessed for driving under the influence.
You should know that this offense could lead to many years behind bars and tens of thousands in financial penalties. For this reason, you need to take immediate steps to protect your interests and your future.