A conviction for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Texas can impact your life in many ways. Even if you are a first-time offender, the penalties can be quite severe. Besides, you will be left with collateral repercussions like a criminal record to deal with.
A DWI conviction comes with serious financial implications that can run into thousands of dollars. Here are some of the financial obligations you will have to deal with if you are convicted of DWI in Texas.
A Texas DWI conviction will attract a substantial fine. The amount you will pay in fine depends on a number of factors such as the existence of aggravating factors, prior DWI convictions and whether your intoxication resulted in an accident that caused an injury or property damage. Thus, criminal penalties resulting from a DWI conviction can range from $2,000 for first-time offenders to $10,000 if you are found to have had a child passenger during your arrest.
DWI and alcohol education programs
Upon conviction for DWI, the court may direct that you sign up for a DWI education program at your expense. Failure to complete this program within 180 days can result in the revocation of your driver’s license.
A DWI conviction in Texas automatically means that you are headed for probation. This will typically range from 6-12 months for first-time offenders. Repeat offenders can expect longer probation periods depending on the severity of the offense and the existence of aggravating factors. Probation, too, will cost you money.
The state of Texas takes DWI seriously. If you are accused of drunk driving, it is important that you take immediate steps to defend yourself and protect your rights.